Breaking News

Omicron Variant Cases Reported in 20 Countries

November 30, 2021 • 10:01 am CST
(Coronavirus Today)

The European CDC announced today 44 confirmed cases of SARS-CoV-2 Omicron have been reported by eleven European Union and European Economic Area (EU/EEA) countries (Austria, Belgium, Czechia, Denmark, France (Reunion), Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, and Sweden.

Omicron variant cases have been reported in nine countries and territories outside of the EU/EEA: Australia, Botswana, Canada, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Israel, Japan, South Africa, Switzerland, and the UK.

As of November 30, 2021, the ECDC says 'the majority of confirmed cases have a history of travel to African countries, with some having taken connecting flights at other destinations between Africa and Europe.'

'All cases for which there is information available on severity were either asymptomatic or had mild symptoms.'

'So far, no severe cases or deaths have been reported among these cases.'

The U.S. CDC has not confirmed an Omicron case.

However, states have already taken action.

The Governor of the State of New York declared a disaster has occurred, for which the affected local governments are unable to respond adequately, and declare a disaster emergency for the entire State of New York through January 15, 2022.