Breaking News

13 Countries Confirm Omicron Virus Cases

November 28, 2021 • 7:56 am CST
(Coronavirus Today)

BNO News reported today the SARS-CoV-2 virus Omicron variant (B.1.1.529) had reached thirteen countries. The online tracker indicates the number of confirmed (131) and suspected cases (1.057) reported as of 7 AM CT in the U.S. 

No Omicron-related deaths have been confirmed.

The World Health Organization and most countries are issuing alerts highlighting significant travel restrictions.

For example, on November 27, 2021, Israel announced that the Ministry of Health identified 50 destinations in the African continent classified as Red Destination, which restricts various freedoms.

All returnees to Israel from a Red destination, including vaccinated and recovered travelers, must go into complete isolation.

The Israeli government also approved the obligation to isolate in a government-run isolation facility until a negative result is obtained in a PCR test performed at the entrance to Israel. This obligation applies at midnight November 29, 2021, for various travelers.

Additionally, anyone who is positive in the PCR test will stay in isolation in the government-run isolation facility until the end of the isolation days required by the guidelines.